Indian insolvency law produced four examinable developments in August 2026 under the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016. The National Company Law Tribunal, Mumbai read the 2026 amendment to the definition of security interest as prospective; the National Company Law Appellate Tribunal turned Section 53 standing on its head; and the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India both disciplined a professional under Section 220 and published the numbers that describe the system.
Why this matters for aspirants. The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Act, 2026 is already on every corporate-law syllabus, and is worked through separately in Veritect's IBC Amendment Act 2026 compendium. This roundup is the application layer — what the tribunals and the regulator did with the Code in one month — and deliberately does not restate the amending Act's contents. That distinction is itself examinable: setters increasingly ask not "what does the amendment say" but "how does it operate in time, and who may complain about it". August 2026 supplies a prospective-operation ruling, a locus standi ruling, a disciplinary order and a data release — four institutional voices on one statute.
1. The Explanation to Section 3(31) Operates Prospectively — Not Retrospectively
12 August 2026 | National Company Law Tribunal, Mumbai Bench | Sane Guruji Premises Co-operative Society Limited v. ARCK Resolution Professional LLP, IA (I.B.C.)/2372(MB)2026 in CP (IB) No. 1053/(MB)/2017 | Exam Relevance ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
What happened. Section 3(31) of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 defines "security interest" as a right, title, interest or claim to property created in favour of, or provided for, a secured creditor by a transaction securing payment or performance of an obligation. The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Act, 2026 inserted an Explanation narrowing that definition to interests created by agreement or arrangement between two or more parties, thereby excluding involuntary statutory charges and liens such as government tax dues. That amending provision was brought into force on 26 May 2026.
The dispute arose in the liquidation of Amar Remedies Ltd. The corporate insolvency resolution process commenced on 16 June 2017; a resolution plan approved on 25 March 2021 was never implemented; and liquidation was ordered on 11 March 2024. Sane Guruji Premises Co-operative Society Limited lodged a claim of Rs. 23.54 lakh, asserting a first charge under Section 47 of the Maharashtra Co-operative Societies Act, 1960. On 28 May 2026 — two days after the amendment commenced — the liquidator reclassified the claim as an ordinary operational creditor claim.
A Bench of Judicial Member Sushil Mahadeorao Kochey and Technical Member Prabhat Kumar treated the application as an appeal under Section 42 of the Code, condoned the delay, and allowed it.
The legal principle. The Bench held that the Explanation introduces a substantive restriction upon the pre-amendment definition; it does not merely clarify existing law. Because it is substantive rather than clarificatory, it operates prospectively from 26 May 2026. Retrospective application would nullify security interests already validly created by operation of law. The Society's claim was accordingly admitted as secured debt for the purposes of Section 53.
For your exam. This is a pure interpretation-of-statutes question wearing insolvency clothing. The general presumption is that an Explanation clarifies pre-existing law and therefore relates back; the presumption that a substantive provision operates prospectively cuts the other way. The Tribunal chose the second, and the article the Bench turned on is substantive versus clarificatory, not the label "Explanation". Learn the reasoning chain, because the characterisation is contestable and the order records that the point remains open to appellate consideration before the NCLAT. A mains answer that says "an Explanation is always retrospective" will lose marks against this ruling.
2. Section 53 Entitlement Defeats, Rather Than Founds, an Employee's Challenge to a Liquidation Sale
21 August 2026 | National Company Law Appellate Tribunal, Principal Bench, New Delhi | Aman Monga and Anr. v. The Liquidator of Jet Airways (India) Ltd. and Ors., Company Appeal (AT) (Insolvency) No. 1257 of 2026 | Exam Relevance ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
What happened. Insolvency proceedings against Jet Airways (India) Limited began on 20 June 2019 under Section 7 of the Code, and a resolution plan of the Jalan Fritsch Consortium was approved on 22 June 2021. Letters of intent for the sale of aircraft issued on 12 October 2022, but no sale deed was executed and no title passed. The NCLT directed on 17 October 2023 that the sale be resumed; the Supreme Court of India affirmed on 7 March 2024; the successful bidder still failed to deposit the balance consideration. On 7 November 2024 the Supreme Court directed liquidation under Section 33, and liquidation commenced on 26 November 2024, all assets entering the liquidation estate under Section 36. The sale was executed on 5 February 2026, for sums the judgment states as approximately USD 12.5 million, USD 16 million and USD 17.5 million.
Two former employees challenged it. Their application was dismissed by the NCLT Mumbai on 22 April 2026, and their appeal was dismissed by a Bench of Justice Mohammad Faiz Alam Khan (Judicial Member) and Arun Baroka (Technical Member), with no order as to costs.
The legal principle. Three holdings matter.
- Standing. The appellants argued that because Section 53 governs their payment, they have an interest in the sale. The Tribunal inverted that: precisely because Section 53 governs their entitlement, the identity of the purchaser and the mechanics of the sale do not affect what they receive. Being employees, "the appellants should not have any concern with the process of sale conducted by the liquidator". They had "failed to indicate any material irregularity or illegality in the process of sale".
- Continuity of sale. Nothing in the Code disentitles a liquidator from continuing a sale of assets initiated by the resolution professional before liquidation commenced. Regulation 32 of the IBBI (Liquidation Process) Regulations, 2016 prescribes the manner of sale and vests the liquidator with unfettered power to conduct it, subject to consideration of creditors holding security interest, which are dealt with under Regulation 37.
- Automatic operation of the waterfall. The liquidator is duty bound to settle claims in the Section 53 order of priority without any further direction or order from the Adjudicating Authority, and the Tribunal cannot give directions beyond or contrary to the Code.
For your exam. Memorise the inversion in one sentence: the waterfall is a shield, not a sword. Then note the narrow route the reasoning leaves open — a challenge pleading a specific Regulation 32 or Regulation 37 defect, or an undervalue traceable to process failure, is not answered by this logic, because such a defect diminishes the estate available to the waterfall itself. That "unless" clause is where the marks are in a descriptive answer.
3. Section 220 in Action — A One-Year Suspension and What It Teaches About Regulatory Architecture
21 August 2026 | Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India, Disciplinary Committee | Order No. IBBI/DC/342/2026, Whole Time Member Sandip Garg | Exam Relevance ⭐⭐⭐⭐
What happened. The Disciplinary Committee suspended the registration of an insolvency professional for one year under Section 220 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 read with Regulation 13 of the IBBI (Inspection and Investigation) Regulations, 2017. He had been the resolution professional in the CIRP of Nimitaya Hotel and Resorts Limited, commenced by the NCLT, New Delhi Bench on 24 December 2021 on an Indian Bank application under Section 7. Three complaints dated 28 February, 13 March and 19 May 2025 led to a show cause notice on 28 November 2025.
The notice framed five contraventions: non-cooperation with the Board's Investigating Authority; failure to conduct independent due diligence of the successful resolution applicant, engaging Section 29A; failure to maintain an updated list of creditors under Section 25(2)(e) and Regulation 13(1) of the CIRP Regulations; failure to convene committee of creditors meetings under Regulation 18; and unauthorised payments during the CIRP. On the fifth head the Committee recorded that "no view is being taken by the DC on this contravention pending such actions".
The legal principle. The order takes effect on expiry of 30 days from issue, and directs that committees of creditors of every corporate debtor where the professional is engaged replace him under Section 27 of the Code. Copies go to his insolvency professional agency and to the Registrar of the NCLT Principal Bench. On Regulation 18, the cadence is a meeting before the lapse of thirty days from the last, with a proviso permitting the committee to extend that interval subject to at least one meeting each quarter.
For your exam. Learn the disciplinary chain as an administrative-law sequence: complaint → Investigating Authority → show cause notice → Disciplinary Committee under Section 220 → order → replacement under Section 27. The deferred effective date is a continuity device worth naming. The Section 29A point is the sharpest doctrinal item: the contravention alleged was not that an ineligible applicant was selected, but that independent due diligence was not done — the applicant's own eligibility affidavit is a starting point, not a discharge of duty.
4. The Numbers — IBBI's Quarterly Newsletter for April–June 2026
17 August 2026 | Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India | Quarterly Newsletter, April–June 2026 | Exam Relevance ⭐⭐⭐⭐
What happened. IBBI published its quarterly newsletter on 17 August 2026, the first consolidated statistical record since the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Act, 2026 came into force on 26 May 2026. Data are stated as at 30 June 2026, and IBBI expressly states they are provisional and revised continuously.
The figures to carry into the hall.
- 9,166 CIRPs admitted; 7,301 closed; 1,865 ongoing.
- 4,227 corporate debtors rescued: 1,484 through resolution plans, 1,410 through appeal, review or settlement, 1,333 through withdrawal under Section 12A.
- 3,074 referred to liquidation; 1,757 fully liquidated, carrying claims of Rs. 5.11 lakh crore against assets valued at Rs. 0.22 lakh crore.
- Realisation through resolution plans: 30.52 per cent of admitted claims, 166.58 per cent of liquidation value, 94.72 per cent of fair value; cumulative realisation exceeding Rs. 4.35 lakh crore.
- Of 1,454 CIRPs yielding plans for which data exist, 612 — about 42 per cent — had previously been before the Board for Industrial and Financial Reconstruction or were defunct.
- Personal guarantors: 5,186 applications (971 by debtors under Section 94, 4,215 by creditors under Section 95), resolution professionals appointed in 2,137 cases, only 64 approved repayment plans, realisation Rs. 234.56 crore — around 1 per cent of admitted claims.
- 4,645 insolvency professionals registered; 15 registrations cancelled through disciplinary action and 235 on failure of the fit and proper requirement; 14 show cause notices disposed of in the quarter.
For your exam. The trap is the 166.58 per cent figure. Liquidation value is a floor, so beating it is the minimum a resolution must achieve — it is a multiple, not a recovery rate. The figure that answers "what does a creditor actually recover" is 30.52 per cent of admitted claims. Pair the personal-guarantor numbers with Sections 94 and 95 to show, in a mains answer, that Part III functions in practice as pressure on the guarantor rather than as a recovery channel.
The Section 53 Ladder — Only the Rungs the August 2026 Material Engages
| Rung | Who ranks there | Where it appeared in August 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Section 53(1)(b)(i) | Workmen's dues for the twenty-four months preceding liquidation commencement | The comparator in the NCLT Mumbai reasoning |
| Section 53(1)(b)(ii) | Secured creditor who relinquishes security, ranking pari passu with workmen's dues | Why secured status was worth litigating for Rs. 23.54 lakh |
| Financial debts owed to unsecured creditors | Ranks above government dues | Stated relationally in the same reasoning |
| Section 53(1)(e) | Government dues | Where statutory charge-holders fall if the Explanation applies |
| Section 53(1)(f) | Ordinary operational creditors | What the liquidator reclassified the Society's claim as |
Read Section 53(1) in full, clauses (a) to (h), from indiacode.nic.in before your exam. The table above lists only the rungs the August 2026 orders actually engage; it is not the complete waterfall, and this digest does not assert the letters of the rungs those orders did not touch.
Key Facts to Remember
| # | Date | Development | Key Fact | Provision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 26 May 2026 | Section 3(31) Explanation in force | Security interest confined to interests created by agreement | IBC s. 3(31) |
| 2 | 12 Aug 2026 | NCLT Mumbai, Sane Guruji | Explanation is substantive, so prospective | IBC ss. 3(31), 42, 53 |
| 3 | 12 Aug 2026 | Same order | Rs. 23.54 lakh claim admitted as secured debt | Maharashtra Co-op. Societies Act 1960, s. 47 |
| 4 | 12 Aug 2026 | Remedy used | Appeal against liquidator's claim decision, 14 days | IBC s. 42 |
| 5 | 17 Aug 2026 | IBBI newsletter | 9,166 CIRPs admitted; 30.52% of admitted claims | IBC generally |
| 6 | 17 Aug 2026 | Personal guarantors | 5,186 filings, 64 plans, ~1% realisation | IBC ss. 94, 95 |
| 7 | 21 Aug 2026 | NCLAT, Aman Monga (Jet Airways) | Section 53 shields employees, so no locus to attack the sale | IBC s. 53; Reg. 32 |
| 8 | 21 Aug 2026 | Same judgment | Liquidator may continue an RP-initiated sale | Regs. 32, 37 Liquidation Process Regs. |
| 9 | 21 Aug 2026 | IBBI DC Order No. IBBI/DC/342/2026 | One-year suspension, effective after 30 days | IBC s. 220; Reg. 13 I&I Regs. 2017 |
| 10 | 21 Aug 2026 | Consequential direction | CoCs must replace the professional | IBC s. 27 |
| 11 | 7 Nov 2024 | Jet Airways liquidation directed | By the Supreme Court of India | IBC s. 33 |
| 12 | — | CoC meeting cadence | 30 days, extendable, minimum one per quarter | Reg. 18 CIRP Regs. |
Exam Angle
Which exams. Judiciary Prelims and Mains in states carrying company law; CLAT-PG and LLM entrance corporate-law sections; UPSC Law Optional Paper II; UGC NET Law Paper II; Company Secretary and IBBI Limited Insolvency Examination papers, where Section 53 and the CIRP Regulations are core.
MCQ format. Expect single-fact recall on section numbers and the 30.52 per cent figure, and one reasoning item on prospective versus retrospective operation.
Descriptive format. Two reliable question shapes: (i) "An Explanation is presumed to clarify. Examine that presumption against the 2026 insolvency jurisprudence on Section 3(31)." (ii) "Does a Section 53 entitlement confer standing to challenge a liquidation sale? Discuss."
Facts to memorise. 26 May 2026 (Explanation in force); Rs. 23.54 lakh; Section 42's fourteen-day window; Regulation 32 (manner of sale) and Regulation 37 (secured creditors); Section 220 plus Regulation 13 of the Inspection and Investigation Regulations, 2017; 30 days to effect and Section 27 replacement; 9,166 CIRPs; 30.52 per cent; 1,757 fully liquidated; Rs. 5.11 lakh crore against Rs. 0.22 lakh crore; 5,186 personal guarantor applications and 64 plans.
Related provisions. Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016, Sections 3(31), 7, 12A, 25(2)(e), 27, 29A, 33, 36, 42, 53, 94, 95, 220; Regulations 13, 18 and 34 of the CIRP Regulations; Regulations 32 and 37 of the IBBI (Liquidation Process) Regulations, 2016; Regulation 13 of the IBBI (Inspection and Investigation) Regulations, 2017; Section 47 of the Maharashtra Co-operative Societies Act, 1960; director disqualification under the Companies Act, 2013.
Practice MCQs
Q1. The NCLT Mumbai Bench in Sane Guruji Premises Co-operative Society Limited held that the Explanation inserted into Section 3(31) of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 —
(a) is clarificatory and therefore applies retrospectively from 2016 (b) is a substantive restriction and therefore operates prospectively from 26 May 2026 (c) is void for excessive delegation (d) applies only to government tax dues and not to co-operative society charges
Answer: (b). The characterisation as substantive rather than clarificatory was the decisive step; prospectivity followed from it. Option (a) states the ordinary presumption about Explanations, which is exactly the presumption the Bench displaced — which is why it is the strongest distractor.
Q2. In Aman Monga and Anr. v. The Liquidator of Jet Airways (India) Ltd. and Ors., decided on 21 August 2026, the NCLAT held that ex-employees —
(a) have locus to challenge a liquidation sale because Section 53 governs their payment (b) may challenge a sale only with the leave of the Committee of Creditors (c) have no concern with the sale process because Section 53 governs their payment regardless of the purchaser, absent material irregularity (d) must first exhaust a Section 42 appeal before approaching the Appellate Tribunal
Answer: (c). The Tribunal inverted the appellants' own argument. Option (a) is the argument that was made and rejected.
Q3. An IBBI Disciplinary Committee order suspending an insolvency professional is passed under —
(a) Section 196 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (b) Section 208 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (c) Section 220 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016, read with Regulation 13 of the IBBI (Inspection and Investigation) Regulations, 2017 (d) Section 240A of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016
Answer: (c). Order No. IBBI/DC/342/2026 dated 21 August 2026 is expressly on that footing. Remember the two consequential facts: effect after 30 days, and replacement by the committee of creditors under Section 27.
Q4. According to IBBI data as at 30 June 2026, realisation through resolution plans as a percentage of creditors' admitted claims was —
(a) 94.72 per cent (b) 166.58 per cent (c) 86.73 per cent (d) 30.52 per cent
Answer: (d). 94.72 per cent is of fair value, 166.58 per cent is of liquidation value, and 86.73 per cent of liquidation value was realised in liquidation. Read the denominator in the stem before answering — this is the single most common trap in IBC data questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the 2026 Explanation to Section 3(31) of the IBC apply to statutory charges created before the amendment?
No, on the reasoning of the NCLT Mumbai Bench in Sane Guruji Premises Co-operative Society Limited v. ARCK Resolution Professional LLP, IA (I.B.C.)/2372(MB)2026 in CP (IB) No. 1053/(MB)/2017. The Explanation was held to be a substantive restriction on the pre-amendment definition rather than a clarification, and therefore to operate prospectively from 26 May 2026. A first charge under Section 47 of the Maharashtra Co-operative Societies Act, 1960 that had attached earlier survived, and the Rs. 23.54 lakh claim was admitted as secured debt for Section 53 purposes. The order records that the characterisation is open to appellate consideration.
Why did the NCLAT hold that ex-employees could not challenge the Jet Airways aircraft sale?
Because the Section 53 waterfall insulates them from the sale's commercial outcome. Deciding Aman Monga and Anr. v. The Liquidator of Jet Airways (India) Ltd. and Ors., Company Appeal (AT) (Insolvency) No. 1257 of 2026 on 21 August 2026, the Bench reasoned that since the appellants' dues are paid in the Section 53 order of priority whoever buys the assets, they should have no concern with the process of sale, and dismissed the appeal for failure to identify any material irregularity or illegality. A challenge pleading a specific Regulation 32 or Regulation 37 defect, or an undervalue traceable to process failure, is not answered by that reasoning.
What is the remedy against a liquidator's decision on a claim?
Section 42 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 permits a creditor to appeal to the Adjudicating Authority against the liquidator's decision accepting or rejecting a claim, within fourteen days of the decision. In the Sane Guruji matter the Tribunal treated the Society's application as such an appeal and condoned the delay in filing — but condonation is discretionary, so the fourteen-day period is the operative date to memorise.
What power does the IBBI exercise when it suspends an insolvency professional, and what follows?
Section 220 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016, read with Regulation 13 of the IBBI (Inspection and Investigation) Regulations, 2017. By Order No. IBBI/DC/342/2026 dated 21 August 2026, the Disciplinary Committee suspended a registration for one year, with effect on expiry of 30 days from issue, and directed that committees of creditors of every corporate debtor the professional serves replace him under Section 27 of the Code. Copies went to his insolvency professional agency and to the Registrar of the NCLT Principal Bench.
What is the realisation rate under the IBC, and why are three different percentages quoted?
Because they measure different denominators. On IBBI data as at 30 June 2026, published on 17 August 2026, resolution plans have realised 30.52 per cent of creditors' admitted claims, 166.58 per cent of liquidation value and 94.72 per cent of fair value. Quote the first: it is the figure that answers what a creditor actually recovers. Liquidation value is a floor, so a 166.58 per cent multiple of it is not a recovery rate at all. IBBI states these data are provisional and revised continuously, so cite them as at the stated date rather than as a fixed fact.
How badly has personal guarantor insolvency performed under Part III of the Code?
On IBBI's own numbers, very badly. As at 30 June 2026, 5,186 applications had been filed against personal guarantors to corporate debtors — 971 by debtors under Section 94 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 and 4,215 by creditors under Section 95 — and resolution professionals had been appointed in 2,137 cases, but only 64 had yielded an approved repayment plan. In those cases creditors realised Rs. 234.56 crore, which IBBI states is around 1 per cent of admitted claims. Part III therefore functions in practice as pressure on the guarantor rather than as a recovery channel.
Sources: National Company Law Tribunal | National Company Law Appellate Tribunal — Orders | Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India — Disciplinary Committee Order No. IBBI/DC/342/2026 | IBBI Quarterly Newsletter, April–June 2026 | Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India | India Code
source_notes: All four developments are taken from Veritect's own primary-source reporting of August 2026. The Sane Guruji particulars (bench, IA and CP numbers, Rs. 23.54 lakh claim, 28 May 2026 reclassification, 26 May 2026 commencement of the amending provision, and the procedural chronology of 16 June 2017, 25 March 2021 and 11 March 2024) come from the Veritect report of 12 August 2026, whose own source note records that the certified copy was not yet published on the NCLT order portal at the time of publication and that the pronouncement date should be confirmed against the certified copy — that caveat is carried forward here and the date is therefore stated as reported rather than as verified against a certified copy. The Aman Monga particulars come from the Veritect report of 21 August 2026, whose source note records that the 18-page judgment PDF was retrieved and its text extracted directly, with the signature block reading "New Delhi / 21.08.2026"; the sale figures are stated in the judgment as approximately USD 12.5 million, USD 16 million and USD 17.5 million, and no rupee equivalent is asserted here because the judgment gives none. The IBBI disciplinary particulars come from Disciplinary Committee Order No. IBBI/DC/342/2026, whose 84-page PDF was downloaded and its text extracted directly; consistent with the underlying report, this digest states the five contraventions as framed in the Show Cause Notice and the operative directions only, and does not state which of Contraventions I to IV the Committee individually upheld, because that was not verified across the full order. The professional is not named in the body of this digest; naming adds nothing to the examinable point. The statistical figures are read from the IBBI quarterly newsletter for April–June 2026, published 17 August 2026, which IBBI itself states are provisional and revised continuously — that caveat is reproduced rather than suppressed. Research gap recorded (§5.10): the Act number of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Act, 2026 is not stated anywhere in this digest, because Veritect's own sources disagree — the daily-news report of 12 August 2026 cites "6 of 2026" while the April 2026 aspirant compendium cites "Act 12 of 2026" — and neither number could be verified against the Gazette or indiacode.nic.in for this digest. That conflict is unresolved as at 8 September 2026; aspirants should verify the Act number against the Gazette before quoting it. Attempts to reach indiacode.nic.in during preparation of this digest returned HTTP 404, which is a portal failure and not evidence about any Act's existence or numbering. No commencement, assent or effective date in this digest is derived from any media report. The Section 53 ladder table above lists only the rungs the August 2026 orders engage and expressly declines to state the letters of rungs not touched by those orders.
This roundup is prepared for legal-examination preparation. It is not legal advice.