Minimum age for Civil Judge (Junior Division) recruitment ranges from a verified 21 years (Rajasthan, Punjab) to 23 years (West Bengal) across Indian states, and the date on which that age is calculated is NOT the same everywhere — Delhi uses 1 January of the notification year, Rajasthan uses 1 January following the application deadline, and Bihar uses two different dates for its minimum and maximum age figures. This article compares age bands, relaxations and attempt limits across 12 states as of 27 July 2026, and flags exactly which figures could and could not be verified from official sources.
This is a companion piece to Veritect's guide on reservation and PwD provisions in judicial service exams — that article covers category-wise reservation percentages and disability certification; this one covers age, the reference-date convention, and attempt caps. Read both together rather than duplicating either.
Why the Reference Date Matters More Than the Number
A "maximum age of 35" means different things depending on when it is measured. Three conventions appear across the 12 states studied:
- As on 1 January of the notification/recruitment year — Delhi's Rule 14(c); West Bengal's advertisements use "as on date of advertisement," a close variant.
- As on the last date for submission of applications — Punjab's Rules, verbatim.
- As on 1 January following the last date for receipt of applications — Rajasthan's Rule 17, which pushes the effective cut-off a full calendar year later than a literal "1 January" reading would suggest.
Bihar is the clearest illustration of why this matters: its 33rd Bihar Judicial Service Examination notification (23 February 2026) fixed minimum age "as on 01.08.2025" but maximum age "as on 01.08.2022" — two different anchor dates in the same cycle, upheld against challenge before the Patna High Court. A candidate who checks only one date risks miscalculating eligibility.
Age and Attempt Comparison — 12 States
| State | Min age | Max age (Gen) | Reference date | Attempt cap | Source status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delhi | Not separately stated in Rule 14 | 32 | 1 Jan of notification year (Rule 14(c)) | None found | Verified — Delhi Judicial Service Rules, 1970, as amended 09.02.2026 |
| Uttar Pradesh | 22 (Rule 10) | 35 | 1 July following the year of notification | Yes — 4 attempts (Rule 10, third proviso) | Verified — UP Judicial Service Rules, 2001, amended 30.01.2026 |
| Madhya Pradesh | Reported 21 | Reported 35 | Conflicting reports | Reported none | Not verified from official source — mphc.gov.in unreachable at time of writing |
| Rajasthan | 21 (Rule 17) | 40 | 1 Jan following the last date for receipt of applications | None found | Verified — RJS Rules, 2010, amended to 02.04.2024 |
| Bihar | 22, as on 01.08.2025 | 35 (Gen, male), as on 01.08.2022 | Two dates — see above | Yes — 5 attempts, Gen-male only (BPSC Advt. 12/2026) | Verified — BPSC Advertisement No. 12/2026, 23.02.2026 |
| Karnataka | Reported not stated | Reported 40 | Reported "last date for receipt of application" | Reported none | Not verified from official source — judiciary.karnataka.gov.in unreachable |
| Maharashtra | Reported 21 (Advocate/PP stream) | Reported 35 (Advocate/PP, UR); 45 (Ministerial/Legal-officer stream) | "As on 30 April 2026" (fixed cut-off in current advertisement) | None found | Secondary-corroborated — MPSC site JS-rendered, not directly extractable; verify against egazette.maharashtra.gov.in |
| West Bengal | 23 | 35 | As on date of advertisement | Yes — Gen 3 attempts; SC/ST/OBC-NCL 5 attempts (WBJS 2023 & 2024 Advts.) | Verified for 2023/2024 cycles — WBJS 2025 (first post-judgment cycle) figures not yet published |
| Gujarat | Not separately stated in 2024-25 cycle document | 35 (Gen); 38 (SC/ST/SEBC/PwBD/EWS, flat) | Last date for online application | None found | Verified for RC/0719/2024-25 cycle (pre-judgment); RC/0719/2026 detailed advertisement not yet issued |
| Haryana | Reported 21 | Reported 42 (2024 cycle) — conflicting older sources cite lower figures | Reported "on or before 31 January" | Reported none | Not verified from official source — hpsc.gov.in, highcourtchd.gov.in unreachable |
| Punjab | 21 (Rules, verbatim) | 35 per Rules text; 37 reported as currently operative | Last date for submission of application form (Rules, verbatim) | None found | Rules base verified — highcourtchd.gov.in; the 37-year operative figure is secondary-corroborated only |
| Tamil Nadu | Reported 25 (Advocates stream); 22 (Fresh Graduates stream) | Reported 35 (Advocates stream); 27 (Fresh Graduates stream) | Reported, unconfirmed | Reported none | Not verified from official source — tnpsc.gov.in, cms.tn.gov.in unreachable |
Reading the table: rows marked "Verified" were confirmed directly against an official Rules document, gazette or Public Service Commission advertisement. Rows marked "Reported" or "Secondary-corroborated" rest on sources this research could not independently confirm because the relevant government website was unreachable at the time of writing (Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Haryana and Tamil Nadu in particular) — treat those figures as indicative only and verify against the current notification before relying on them.
Category-Wise Relaxations — What Is Verified
| State | SC/ST | OBC | PwBD | Women | Govt servants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delhi | Commonly cited +5 | — | — | — | — |
| Uttar Pradesh | +5 (to 40; verbatim, Rule 10) | Reported +5 (UP-domicile) — not verified | Reported +15 — not verified | — | — |
| Rajasthan | +5, uniform across SC/ST/OBC/MBC/EWS/Women (Rule 17 proviso, single non-cumulative relaxation) | (see SC/ST column) | Deferred to general state policy — not verified | (see SC/ST column) | Not found |
| Bihar | Flat 40-year ceiling for all reserved categories, women of any category, and OH/PwBD (effectively +5 over general-male ceiling) | (see SC/ST column) | (see SC/ST column) | (see SC/ST column) | Not found |
| Gujarat | +3 flat, uniform across SC/ST/SEBC/PwBD/EWS (to 38) | (see SC/ST column) | (see SC/ST column) | Not found in primary document (a commonly-repeated "+8 years" claim could not be verified and appears incorrect) | Court/Allied-Department staff: up to 5 years or years served, whichever less, absolute ceiling 40 |
| Punjab | To 40 (verbatim proviso) | Not found | Reported to 47 (Punjab-domicile) — not verified | Widow/divorced women reported to 42 — not verified | Reported to 45 — not verified |
| West Bengal | +5 (SC/ST) | +3 (OBC-NCL) | To 45 | Not found | +2 |
Delhi, Karnataka, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Tamil Nadu relaxation figures beyond what is shown above could not be independently verified from an official source at the time of writing.
The Three-Year Practice Rule — State-by-State Codification Status
The Supreme Court's judgment of 20 May 2025 in All India Judges Association v. Union of India, W.P.(C) No. 1022 of 1989, restored a minimum three-year Bar-practice condition computed from provisional enrolment with the State Bar Council, not from clearing the All India Bar Examination. High Courts were directed to amend their Rules within three months (by roughly August 2025) and State Governments to approve the amendments within six months (by roughly November 2025). As of 27 July 2026:
- Already codified into Rules, without any increase to minimum age: Delhi (Rule 14 substituted 06.02.2026), Uttar Pradesh (Seventh Amendment, 30.01.2026), Bihar (Bihar Civil Service (Judicial Branch) (Amendment) Rules, 2026, per BPSC Advertisement No. 12/2026), Maharashtra (Maharashtra Judicial Service (Amendment) Rules, 2025, gazetted 1 December 2025, though its retrospective application is under separate challenge before the Bombay High Court).
- Not yet incorporated into Rules text as of the last verified version: Rajasthan (Rules amended to 02.04.2024 predate the judgment; no fresh Civil Judge Cadre 2026 notification issued), Punjab (base Rules text updated to 10.10.2017 predates the judgment; no confirmed post-judgment amended text found), Gujarat (its bare RC/0719/2026 vacancy notice of 24 April 2026 contains no eligibility detail at all), West Bengal (no formal amendment to the West Bengal Judicial (Conditions of Service) Rules, 2004 located; its first post-judgment cycle, WBJS 2025, has not yet published detailed eligibility).
- Already had a practice-linked condition predating the judgment, status of alignment with the national rule unconfirmed: Madhya Pradesh (its Rule 7, amended 23 June 2023, already required either three years' continuous practice or an academic-merit alternative — whether MP has since aligned the computation date to "provisional enrolment" is not verified), Tamil Nadu (its "Practising Advocates" stream has required three years' practice since 2002, but it also runs a parallel "Fresh Law Graduates" channel with no practice requirement — precisely the channel the 20 May 2025 judgment is understood to close nationally, and no TN amendment implementing that closure has been located).
- Not independently verified either way: Karnataka, Haryana (whose HCS(J) 2026 cycle of roughly 255 vacancies was advertised in August 2025 and then withdrawn, consistent with post-judgment disruption, with no confirmed re-issued advertisement found).
No state among the 12 studied could be confirmed, from a primary official document, to have both (a) a fully gazetted Rules amendment implementing the three-year condition and (b) a live, detailed 2026-27 recruitment advertisement carrying confirmed age figures under that amendment, at the same time. Some states have the Rules amendment but no fresh advertisement yet (Bihar and Delhi are closest to a complete picture); others have neither.
Interaction With the Minimum-Age Floor
The three-year practice condition, not the stated minimum age, is now the effective floor in most states. A candidate typically needs: a three-year LLB after graduation (or a five-year integrated LLB), a period to secure provisional enrolment with the State Bar Council, and then three full years of practice measured from that enrolment date. Stacked together, this places realistic eligibility at roughly 23 to 24 years at the earliest — above the stated minimum age of 21 in Rajasthan and Punjab, and above the 22-year minimum in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. States that have codified the three-year rule (Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra) have done so without raising their minimum-age figures, which means the practice condition, layered on top of an unchanged age floor, is now doing the eligibility-gating work that the age clause alone used to do.
For the category-wise reservation percentages that apply on top of these age bands — SC/ST/OBC/PwD seat and vacancy shares under the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 — see Veritect's companion article on reservation and PwD provisions in law entrance and judicial service exams.
FAQ
Which state has the youngest minimum age and which has the oldest maximum age for Civil Judge (Junior Division)? Rajasthan and Punjab both set a verified minimum age of 21 years under their respective Judicial Service Rules. Odisha has the oldest verified maximum age at 42 years (as on 1 April 2025) among the states this article could confirm from official sources, though Karnataka and Haryana are reported at similar levels in unverified secondary sources.
Is age calculated the same way in every state? No. Delhi's Rule 14(c) fixes age as on 1 January of the year applications are invited; Rajasthan's Rule 17 fixes it as on 1 January following the last date for receipt of applications, a full year later than a literal reading might suggest; Punjab's Rules fix it as on the last date for submission of the application form; and Bihar uses two different reference dates for its minimum-age and maximum-age figures in the same recruitment cycle.
Does any state cap the number of attempts at the Civil Judge exam? Uttar Pradesh's Judicial Service Rules, 2001 (Rule 10, third proviso) explicitly cap General-category candidates at four attempts. Bihar's 33rd Bihar Judicial Service Examination notification (23 February 2026) caps general-category male candidates at five attempts by executive notification. West Bengal's 2023 and 2024 advertisements capped General candidates at three attempts and SC/ST/OBC-NCL candidates at five. Most other states rely on age limits alone, with no separate attempt cap found in their Rules or advertisements.
How does the restored three-year practice rule interact with the minimum-age floor? A candidate needs roughly three years for a law degree after Class 12 (or five for the integrated route), time to secure provisional Bar Council enrolment, and then three full years of practice computed from that enrolment date under All India Judges Association v. Union of India (20 May 2025) — pushing realistic eligibility to roughly 23-24 years at the earliest even where a state's stated minimum age is 21 or 22. Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Maharashtra have codified the three-year condition into their Rules without raising their minimum-age figures.
Are these age and attempt figures final for the 2026-27 recruitment cycle? No. The three-year practice condition remains sub judice: a Supreme Court Special Bench (Chief Justice of India Surya Kant, Justice A.G. Masih and Justice K.V. Chandran) began hearing review applications and a connected disability-exemption petition from 28 July 2026. The rule has not been stayed, and several states have not yet issued a detailed post-judgment advertisement carrying confirmed age figures — always verify against the live notification for your target state.
Source: Delhi High Court — Delhi Judicial Service Rules, 1970 (as amended 09.02.2026) | Allahabad High Court — UP Judicial Service Rules, 2001 (amended 30.01.2026) | Rajasthan High Court — RJS Rules, 2010 (amended to 02.04.2024) | Bihar Public Service Commission — Advertisement No. 12/2026 | West Bengal Public Service Commission | Gujarat High Court — Recruitment | High Court of Punjab and Haryana — Judicial Branch Rules